Running and Happiness

I am happy.

After sleeping as long as I could – a practice I try to do at least once a week – I got up and went running. Despite the temptation to stay and eat homemade bacon and french toast from Al and Esther, I left the house around 9:30 AM. The air is still fresh and the weather cool but the “winter” season is quickly coming to a close.

I ran to the Chiang Mai Zoo, at the base of the mountain in Chiang Mai. It was exactly 7 kilometers to the base so I decided to run up a little. After 3 kms up I ran back down and then home. After a big chocolate milk at 7/11, I had some leftovers, took a shower, and then took a nap. At 2:00 PM, a few of us went and saw Les Miserables. At least four of those actors deserved best actor of the year. I am amazed that some of those songs were captured in one take. And with such emotion! What a grisly yet spectacular redemptive story of forgiveness (the only way a story of forgiveness can be, I suppose.)

After the movie and a Phad Thai dinner with “the fam,” I made my way to a coffee shop downtown with my Kindle. I love my Kindle. After reading for more than an hour, the soreness of 20 kilometers began to set in. Since this is Thailand, I gently sauntered to the Sunday open air market and got an hour’s worth of foot, leg, and shoulder massage.

During the massage, I finished my 5th book of 2013, The Happiness Hypothesis: Finding Modern Truth in Ancient Wisdom by social psychologist Jonathan Haidt – a self-proclaimed but refreshingly non-judgmental atheist. In his conclusion Haidt writes, “Happiness is not something that you can find, acquire, or achieve directly. You have to get the conditions right and then wait. Some of those conditions are within you… Other conditions require relationships to things beyond you.”

Drifting in and out of sleep as the sunshine peers through my window… Running through the cool mountain air… watching the passionate sounds and sights of forgiveness in Les Mis… reading pages rich with creative ideas… the physical sensation of having my soreness massaged away… the slow and peaceful bike ride back to my beloved home…

Life is good. I am happy.

Ozzie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running and Happiness

  1. Maew says:

    Wow, I’m glad you had such a great time!! 🙂

  2. mom says:

    You are wonderful. I love you. xoxo

Leave a Reply

