Moving to D.C.

I’m excited to announce I am moving to Washington, D.C. in August to pursue my doctoral studies at George Washington University.

After a long process of applications and discernment, I’ve decided to enroll in an Ed.D. program in Human and Organizational Learning working with Maria Cseh. I am fortunate to be offered a full scholarship, which includes tuition, health insurance, a living stipend, and a small salary for work as a research assistant. I’m still looking for a living situation somewhere near Foggy Bottom. Anyone have an elderly parent or friend looking to exchange a room for company?

I am absolutely heartbroken and devastated about leaving Thailand. I plan on visiting as often as I can and will perhaps do research on Southeast Asian educational institutions. I’m also thinking about getting a motorbike back in the US to help ease the pain.

Still, the thought of leaving Thailand isn’t so bad when I think about how close I will be to family back in America. I’ve been away for 4 of the last 5 years and am looking forward to being based closer to home. If there’s one thing Thailand has taught me over the years, it is the importance of family. More reflections coming soon.

See you in August, America.

At an ASEAN +3 Panel Discussion

At an ASEAN +3 Panel Discussion

This entry was posted in D.C., Education, Family, George Washington University, Thailand. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Moving to D.C.

  1. Dear Ozzie, it’s so sad to hear that you’ll leave Thailand esp. Chiang Mai, but glad to hear that you’ll go for goal, just go and get it, have fun in D.C. We’ll miss you so much!

  2. Trea lynch says:

    Good luck Ozzie

  3. Brad West says:

    Congratulations bro. I’m sure things will work out well there for you. I’m glad we got to cross paths and I hope they cross again some day.

  4. M says:

    wow, you’re so blessed! 🙂

  5. Congratulations Ozzie! I hear you on the importance of family. Glad you get to be close to them soon. Enjoy these last few months in Thailand.

  6. Dru Lattin says:

    Congratulations. *sniff*. You are absolutely heartbroken *and* devastated? That’s some pretty powerful redundancy, brother. Thailand will miss you too–but that sounds like an amazing opportunity in DC!

  7. Ang says:

    Good luck Ozzie. I hope we can reconnect when you get back state side.

Leave a Reply

